LEARNING ACTIVITY – COLOUR THEORY

QUESTION 1(PART ONE)

Explain in my own words what RGB and CMYK colour system means.

RGB Stands for the primary colours RED, GREEN and BLUE. They are the colours of light and are used for images on screen.

CMYK stands for CYAN, MAGENTA, YELLOW and CMYK and is the meant for print. There are fewer color combinations for CMYK than for RGB so when working with print graphics on the computer you should always select CMYK as the color system to get a more realistic preview on screen.

 

QUESTION 1(PART TWO)

Make use of Adobe Kuler and develop four different colour schemes.

I chose to use Adobes colour website to develop two colour schemes and Adobes IOS app “Capture” for the two others. The four types of colour schemes that was set will follow with my answers.

Monochromatic

01_monochromatic

 

Complementary

02_Complementary.jpg

 

Triadic

 

Analogous

 

QUESTION 2

Use a colour photo of my choice and make the following colour effects.

Andy Warhol-look

Sepia-look

Split toning

Effect of my choice(I chose gradient)

 

QUESTION 3

Design a book cover for “The Little prince” by Antione de Saint-Exupery. Use secondary colours to express naivety , honest and harmony.

I drew each graphic shape by hand and captured it with Adobes IOS app Capture and imported it to Illustrator and finished it. I used orange in to different light settings to illustrate hot sand and sunny weather and to express harmony. Also it was an appropriate secondary colour. Dark purple was used on the crashed plane to contrast the environment(also secondary colour) . The prince is white to express honesty and naivety.

I used the font “Vervine” because of the handwritten type that matched the expression I was going for. I synced the font from Adobes Typekit.

The final product

the_little_prince_02-01

I downloaded a free template(as in I have to pay to remove the dark square in the background)to show the mockup as a print.

the_little_prince_mockup

Leave a Reply

