LEARNING ACTIVITY – SKETCHING TECHNIQUES

INTERPRETATION OF THE TASK

 

The assignment was to do an illustration for a fruit juice packaging (orange and banana flavor) called: Loose Juice.

I had to sketch at least 15 scamps of the label and draw one of them in Adobe Illustrator. The name, fruit and flavor had to be included.

 

scamps

 

After going through my ideas I landed on this sketch:

loose_juice_sketch_crop

 

The idea here was a flat design with simple shapes, few colors and contrasts with a black background. The font type and font color is based on the same ideas as the logo.

 

loose_juice_finale

 

I used Adobe Typekit to find a simple sans serif font for the type. It’s a service included in the Adobe Creative Cloud package. The font is synced to my adobe account and my Adobe applications. I chose a font called Fira Sans. I adjusted the kearning(space between characters) in the word JUICE to make the length the same as the word LOOSE.

I dropped the monkey from the sketch because it made the packaging look childish.

The biggest challenge was to learn the basics of Adobe Illustrator. I have some experience working with pixel graphic in Photoshop, but Illustrator is based on vector graphics( anchorpoints and paths, mathematical formels). After watching tutorials on Lynda and YouTube I barely managed to draw my Idea in Illustrator. I used countless of hours for this learning activity and it has been my most challenging one yet. Estimated time usage for the assignment was 2 days.

It took me 5 days to complete the task.

 

Links:

Orange:
https://clipartion.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/orange-slice-vector-free-clipart-images1-830×830.png

Banana:
http://www.clipartlord.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/banana14.png

Leave a Reply

